Beet Spätzle

Sorry, my phone did a whoopsie, and deleted all of my photos of this fabulous dish. I had made pickled beets for thanksgiving, and then the jar had wandered it’s way to the back of my fridge. Pickling is such an effective preservation method that when I found them recently they were still as sweet and delicious as they had been when I first made them. I’ve been on a dumpling kick lately and so I knew these beets were destined to become some form of bready pasta before the day was through.

If you’ve never tried Spätzle before, I highly recommend trying this recipe as soon as possible. They are such a unique texture experience, and since the texture is so fulfilling, they are very easy to dress as well. a small pat of butter, some parmesan, and maybe a fresh herb, and you’ve got a gourmet tasting dish on your hands.

There is a really cool tool you can buy for plopping the dough into your boiling water, but I just like to use a colander and a spatula. You can fill the colander with your dough, and then just force it through the holes using a spatula. It works just as well as the Spätzle tool, without having to purchase a specialty product that you’ll never use for anything else. Give it a shot, I promise you wont be disappointed.

Make sure to check out all of the recipes in the recipes tab.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started